top of page

A Most Magnificent Beginning

The Lambda Chapter was chartered in 1921 at The University of Chicago by seven outstanding women, including two of our beloved Founders:

  • Osceola Macarthy Adams, First President of Lambda Chapter

  • Marguerite Young Alexander

  • Freddie Billings (Beta Chapter)

  • Marie Ody Cobb (Beta Chapter)

  • Margaret Watkins Hardiman (Beta Chapter)

  • Vivian Mason (Alpha Chapter)

  • Ruby Martin Payne (Beta Chapter)

Among the first initiates were Sorors:

  • Estelle Webster MacNeal

  • Tillie Houston White

  • Sophia Boaz

Today, Lambda is known as the undergraduate Chicago-Citywide Chapter; home to not only The University of Chicago, but also University of Illinois-Chicago, Chicago State University, Illinois Institute of Technology, Loyola University, Roosevelt University, and Northeastern Illinois University.

bottom of page